You’ll Lose a Good Thing

“There weren’t really any women playing electric guitar that I knew of coming up,” says Lynn, now 68 and living in Beaumont with her 88-year-old mother, Mildred Richard. “But after I saw Elvis Presley on the TV when I was just a kid, I just wanted to play the guitar so bad.”

Classy, Soulful Barbara Lynn

“The Empress of Gulf Coast Soul” will be honored Thursday at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center with a Star of Texas Folklife award. Also receiving Stars will be fiddle great Johnny Gimble and accordion master Santiago Jiménez Jr. The event is a benefit for Texas Folklife, an organization that has promoted Texas roots music for 25 years. Classy and soulful Barbara Lynn, meanwhile, has made Texas proud for almost 50 years.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a comment