RSS Feed

thought for today

What I really lack is to be clear in my mind what I am to do, not what I am to know. . . . The thing is to understand myself, to see what God really wishes me to do. – Soren Kierkegaard

Often, I seem to be just limping along and drifting.

However, sometimes the drifting and the limping brings me to the place I know God wants me.

I can feel that my strengths are being used and valued and – to me – that indicates that God has placed me in that place at that time – in spite of my drifting and limping (or perhaps because of such a diverse and seemingly aimless path).

Sometimes, even in the midst of work and rush and disorganization, I am granted a sense of prayerful calm.  Then, too, I know God has directed me to that place – at that time.  I feel His guidance – in spite of my inadequacies.

At other times, it takes courage to resist the expectations of others who may want me in a job that is not my best.  My prayer is that I will always recognize God’s direction and that I know when I bump up against my limits.

No one can doubt that numberless opportunities abound, by which through God’s grace the coldness and sleepiness of our minds can be shaken off. – John Cassian

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

