RSS Feed

little surprises

Sometimes – little surprises – are  – surprising.

I opened a book I’ve not read in several years – probably (one of the surprises) since 2002.

There were a couple of pieces of paper serving as bookmarks in different places in Spiritual Notes to Myself Essential Wisdom for the 21st Century by Hugh Prather.

One ‘bookmark’ was torn from a September 24, 1999 e-mail message about my “Sammon Family in Gwinnett County, Georgia” and I could read only the first part of the message:

“The Elizabeth Sammon I am searching marrie”

and

“I need HELP to sort this all out, are you my a”

This was between pages 74 and 75 and the following paragraph on page 74 caught my attention:

Turning to our peaceful mind is an unremarkable process.  The shift is not accompanied by strong emotion.  It’s nice when I experience God’s peace and presence consciously.  But if on many occasions I receive it only unconsciously, I don’t want to waste an instant’s thought on that fact.  Let me simply continue my spiritual journey and be assured that the light of heaven still shines in me and all about me.

The second marker (between pages 40 and 41) brought back memories of breakfasts at Johnny Mac’s on Court Street (which – alas, is no longer there).

Quotations from those pages:

The reason it isn’t helpful to go around talking about our healings, visions, and other spiritual fireworks is that such conversations tend to be separating and unloving.  The little mind gets involved, we start feeling special, and the other person thinks he wasn’t invited to God’s party.

The saints of God dare to be ordinary.

Such a nice surprise between the pages of an inspirational book on this day: Friday, October 22, 2010.

Page 39:

Don’t give “feedback.”  Give truth.  The fact is that most people really are asking if they are wonderful, and my truth-filled answer is YES!  Each of God’s children is cherished and beloved.  Even though I know in my heart and prayers that truth doesn’t play favorites, I am dealing with one person at a time.

page 38:

When I’ve lost all interest in controlling outcomes, I finally will be free to love everyone my mind rests upon.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

