RSS Feed

“my great grief cry”

None of us escape grief; we were not given an immunity shot for Grief.

Depression.  Fear.  Physical pain.  Mental suffering.  Inner darkness. Trapped and hemmed in by grief.  Isolation.  Inner darkness.

All part and parcel of our humanity.

Job who loved God did not escape this malady – nor do we.

Why is life given to a man whose way is hidden, whom God has hedged in? – Job 3:23

God, in unimaginable love, has taken on our humanity and there IS light.  Even when we are enclosed in darkness, there is a way out.

Pushing Through

It’s possible I am pushing through solid rock
in flintlike layers, as the ore lies, alone;
I am such a long way in I see no way through,
and no space: everything is close to my face,
and everything close to my face is stone.

I don’t have much knowledge yet in grief–
so this massive darkness makes me small.
You be the master: make yourself fierce, break in: then your great transforming
will happen to me, and my great grief cry will happen to you.

Rainer Maria Rilke

Deborah Smith Douglas writes that “If we can learn to within that mystery [of grief], our own suffering can carry within it what Tolkien called ‘a joy beyond the walls of the world, poignant as grief.’ ”

absorbing darkness

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

