RSS Feed

minus a script

O LordA Prayer for Discernment

I do not know what to ask you.
You alone know my real needs,
and you love me more
than I even know  how to love.

Enable me to discern my true needs
which are hidden from me.

I ask for neither cross nor consolation;
I wait in patience for you.
My heart is open to you.
For your great mercy’s sake,
come to me and help me.
Put your mark on me and heal me,
cast me down and raise me up.
Silently I adore your holy will
and your inscrutable ways.

I offer myself in sacrifice to you
and put all my trust in you.
I desire only to do your will.
Teach me how to pray
and pray in me, yourself.
– Vasily Drosdov Philaret (ca 1780-1867)

There is no script (although God’s Word does give instruction – and it would do me well to spend more time in His Word).

We are all different and I haven’t the foggiest idea of any other person’s  innermost self (and what may be really going on in his/her life) and wouldn’t presume to tell anyone what they should be doing or how they should be acting or what their purpose is in life.

God knows I certainly don’t know – really know – another.

I am not that wise.

God knows.

However, I DO wish to live a life of Worth . . . so I keep plodding along!

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

