RSS Feed

September when it comes

In previous postings, I’ve mentioned a dear friend who has Lou Gehrig’s disease (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS).  Jan, a very close friend of Lynn, wrote:

at the moment I cannot get beyond my sorrow.
DAMN DEATH!!

That sums up what Lynn’s friends are now feeling.  We don’t want to let go.  To lose someone who has gifted us with so much and to think of never hearing her laughter, seeing her lovely face, reading her extraordinary prose, to never see Lynn again – in this life  – causes such intense pain to well up in our hearts.

God bless you, Lynn.

God keep you in his arms – forever.

And thank you for the Gift of Yourself

which you have always given so freely and lovingly.

Lynn wrote a short note to friends, explaining that she wanted us to know how much her friends have meant to her.

While I still am able, I want to thank you for the truly wonderful outpouring of love and concern I have received since I let people know of my diagnosis of ALS.

I echo Jan’s exclamation:  Damn Death!

Excerpt from Lynn’s moving letter:

Remember the old Frank Sinatra classic, “September Song”?   He sings about days growing short when you reach September, and how, when autumn comes, the days dwindle down to a precious few.

My days are dwindling down to a precious few which is why I’m writing to say good-bye and to wish you all abundant good health, happy lives and lots of laughter.   Your many good wishes have brought much light into my life, and I am eternally grateful.

Love to you each and everyone,
Lynn

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

4 responses »

  1. I too love this song. So sorry to hear of your friend’s leaving. It is hard when a good friend has to say goodbye.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for your comment; it is hard (I realize we all have said these goodbyes – but it is hard).

    Thanks again . . .

    Reply
  3. Precious Lynn – fond memories of you always. You will be safe in His arms, and this is not good-bye, just ‘so long’ for awhile. Much love and many prayers for your family.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: time to say goodbye « AimlessMusings2010

Leave a Reply

