RSS Feed

the gift of an ordinary day

I’ve been visiting Katrina Kenison’s blog for about a year now, I suppose.  She speaks to my heart.  She is an eloquent and inspiring writer – writing about Real Life.

A dear friend recently sent a message to old and not-so-old friends, stating that she knows that each day is all we have.

That is all we have.

One day each day.

God bless my friend. She is counting her days and writes that she spends a fair amount of time “lifting up mine eyes unto the hills . . .”

Lynn is living each day to its fullest and is living on borrowed time (she was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s Disease about a year ago) .

However, as long as I have known her (fifty-plus years), she has always lived each day fully –  with grace and humor and delight and generosity.

Aren’t we all? – living on borrowed time?.

I want to live each day as though it is the first day of my life . . . and the last day of my life.

I have much to learn in that regard, however.  My Selfish Self surfaces and I lose sight of Who I Want To Be.

Each day holds promises and wonders and hellos and goodbyes.

I don’t want to lose sight of these promises and wonders . . . and greetings . . .

and I want to be able to say the goodbyes with the grace I see in friends such as Lynn.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

One response »

  1. Pingback: time to say goodbye « AimlessMusings2010

Leave a Reply

