RSS Feed

snippets from books

Posted on

For me, walking the labyrinth became a powerful metaphor.  Out of my seventeen years of experience as a caregiver, and hundreds of interviews, grows my understanding of the emotional, physical, spiritual, and practical demands on a family caregiver.  It starts with The Call and can become a calling.  For me, the calling is literally to speak to and for millions of silent caregivers.

Most of us will go through what I call “turnings” — significant changes in the condition of our loved one that demand new coping strategies.  Each new turning requires a shift in attitude, different tools, and more help.  We caregivers also have our own turnings, bombarded by conflicting emotions that force us to question our motives and reshape our attitudes.  We have so much to learn, not only how to become fearless advocates for our loved ones but also how to take care of ourselves at the same time.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

