RSS Feed

Dear Husband in the Kitchen!

Posted on

Since retirement, my Sweetheart has proven to be quite adept in the kitchen.  Some of his specialities are:

  • Peanut brittle
  • Gumbo
  • Shrimp Etouffee
  • Omelets (breakfasts – each day of the week!)
  • FIG PRESERVES!

Recently, Hubby and Oldest Colorado Grandson went fig-gathering – filching figs from a friend’s tree.  The result of this excursion  provided delicious fig preserves – bless my husband’s heart (and cooking skills!).

I never had it so good!!

Our first home in Seguin had a large yard with a great many trees;  one of the trees was a loquat tree.

I recall the delicious loquat jelly Hubby made one year; however, gathering loquats is a bit different from gathering figs (much more labor intensive with the smaller loquats).

Ah – I love a man in the kitchen!


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

