RSS Feed

traveling with books (“the places you will go”)

Posted on

I got my Tattered Cover “Fix” – at last!!

Jerry Seinfield:

A bookstore is one of the only pieces of evidence we have that people are still thinking.

George Carlin:  I went to a bookstore and asked the saleswoman:  “Where’s the Self Help Section?”  She said if she told me, it would defeat the purpose.

The Tattered Cover is one of the largest independent bookstores in the nation.  My first visit to the Cherry Creek store must have been in the mid- 1970s.

I remember when the store moved from the third street(?) address up the street to a larger building that had been a department store.  Loyal customers helped move the books to the new location.

Then the LoDo (lower downtown) Tattered Cover opened just before we moved from Denver.  After our move to Seguin, a branch was opened in Highland Ranch and the Cherry Creek store was moved to Colfax Avenue in the old Lowenstein Theater.

Together the stores maintain an inventory of over a million books.  The customer service is excellent (EXCELLENT!).  The staff is knowledgeable about the books (and much else); one can read a book in the coffee shop . . . and then purchase or not; other than this visit, I either see someone I know or a ‘famous’ person I know from news/television/movies/books.

Although I really enjoyed the Fourth Story Restaurant above the Cherry Creek bookstore, the Encore Restaurant adjoining the Colfax bookstore was a nice place to grab a bite to eat and visit.

I really miss this place and was thankful for a recent short visit.

Read Anatomy of an Indie Bookstore.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

4 responses »

  1. Hope–Thanks for all the nice blogs again. It’s nice having you back!

    Reply
  2. Total agreement – the Tattered Cover is a fantastic part of what makes Denver Unique!

    Reply
  3. Thank you for your blog. I enjoy it immensely and find myself coming here for respite.
    And of course, I love bookstores.

    Reply
    • Books . . . I know you love reading as much as I do . . . I can’t imagine a life without them.

      So glad you enjoy visiting and I always treasure your comments, Suzy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

