RSS Feed

Teaser Tuesday (on Monday)

Posted on

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesdays  participants can add the book to their To Read Lists if they like your teasers!

They thought if a girl had a ring on her finger she was married, but it is easy as pie for a girl to borrow a ring from a friend or even from her mother, painful as that would be for the mother, or a gold-plated ring from the five-and-dime, and sterling silver rings look like platinum or white gold but a sharp eye can tell silver rings from platinum rings because cheap silver leaves a smudge on the finger and you can tell when you are washing a patient.  These rings you can buy at places are also worn by girls who check into hotels with men or as a protection from mashers who happen to be sitting and watching at nearby tables.

I Heard My Sister Speak My Name by Thomas Savage

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

6 responses »

  1. Interesting and very true. Love the word masher.

    Reply
  2. Great teaser! Sounds like a good book.

    Enjoy

    Reply
  3. My mother actually told me to buy a pretend ring before ever going to Italy… she had quite an exciting time there when she went… or maybe a bit too exciting!

    My teaser’s at http://hampshireflyer.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/teaser-tuesday-16/

    Reply
  4. Oh man, I haven’t heard the word “Masher” used this way for years! Perfect! And great advice, heehee!

    Meanwhile, my own teaser is at Bookishgal.

    Reply
  5. Great teaser! Stop by and check out my teaser at The Wormhole.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

