RSS Feed

Is Google making me stupid?

Posted on

I used to have shelves and shelves of reference books – which I would refer to frequently.  When I needed answers that were not readily at hand, I shuffled off to the library and would pour over the books I couldn’t check out . . . and borrow the ones I could.  I read – to find information.

Now . . . I google.

Is Google making me stupid?

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

3 responses »

  1. In my honest opinion, find that google is just an easier reference book. It’s electronic and you can learn even more than you asked for. Google teaches me something new everyday. I almost always refer to google after little mind spurts. Any information I need is right in my hand. I can keep doing what I’m doing instead of having to run for the library. The only thing google holds you back from is real life browsing. Coming across subjects more interesting than the one your studying. Google doesn’t make you stupid. If anyrhing it’s definitely made me more intelligent and world aware 🙂

    Reply
  2. My husband and I were just talking about how much smarter we would have been had we attended college with all the electronic “stuff” the kids have today. I would have used every bit of it and done so much. I just get excited thinking about the kind of student I would have been with all the power of the Internet at my fingertips. I was an outstanding student with a card catalog and library stacks; imagine what I could have done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

