RSS Feed

discerning the balance point

Posted on

Why am I doing what I’m doing?  What are my goals?  Am I keeping my eye on what is important?

Not being a terribly introspective person, I now and then take stock of myself: my motives, my perseverance, resolve, and my willingness to change when I SHOULD change – and to know when change is needed.

Several years ago, I knelt at the prayer rail during a Richard Foster Workshop/Spirituality Day Retreat and asked the gentle person who laid her hand on my head to pray that God would grant me discernment and wisdom.

That is actually my constant prayer.  My always prayer.

Quoting Elaine M. Prevallet:

Perseverance, as she walks that tightrope toward her goal, always needs her companion–the balancing pole of discernment that keeps check on motivations, on the one hand of self-protection, and on the other hand of self-promotion or self-interest. . . . Discernment must keep her sensitive even to the very subtle changes in her relationship to the goal. . . . and we have to learn to keep discernment as our steady companion as we walk securely and trustingly toward God.

I walk trustingly – and prayerfully – always wanting to discern the balance point.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Leave a Reply

