RSS Feed

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Hearts always beat a little faster in Beech when word got around that someone had seen dust rising off the flat, that a bunch of cattle were being trailed in by a bunch of free-spending cowhands; in the two saloons the bartenders looked to the level of the rotgut in the bottles behind the bar and set out the real whiskey, down from Canada, for those with the wherewithal — the ranchers who lived to make big gestures.

“I’m telling you,” a bartender said to a drummer who had blown in the night before on a  train from Salt Lake City.  “Stay off the highway and don’t go gawking at the cattle when they trail in, or you’ll like to spook them and they’ll have trouble gettin’  ’em in the yards. . . .”

The Power of the Dog by Thomas Savage

[I know!  I know!  Three sentences – but no way are three sentences going to give away  the story of a book that has 293 pages; it is a Teaser of 3 Sentences – and it is a good book by a very gifted and accomplished author.  If you have not read any books by Thomas Savage, make a note to do so.]

“It is incomprehensible that [Thomas] Savage is so neglected. . . . The canon builders of the West have made regional flattery with its big skies, men to match the mountains, and geographies of hope such an obligation that a subtle practitioner like Savage goes unnoticed. In my view, Savage may be the best of all the western novelists, after Cather.”

—Thomas McGuane, Montana The Magazine of Western History

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

5 responses »

  1. I’m not a fan of western type lit but I’m glad you’re enjoying the book. My teaser is here

    Reply
  2. Three sentences is just barely enough.

    Reply
  3. Our preferences are subjective, of course. I think that I like almost every type of literature – fiction and non-fiction, classics, historical fiction, science fiction, (really like Ray Bradbury for instance). Biographies. Memoirs (although there certainly have been a lot of these the past few years).

    Two friends of a Colorado friend made a great deal of $$ after deciding one evening (a Girl Evening with a couple/few glasses of wine) that they could certainly write about romance. After a lot of giggling about it, glory be! – they got serious and have been churning them out with frequency and laughing all the way to the bank.

    The Teaser Tuesday posts cover it all, I think! Most all of my friends really like the Romance Novels. I DO like Jane Austen’s novels and I suppose her writing can be categorized as romance (Pride and Prejudice). However, just as Kaye doesn’t care for novels with a western theme, Romance novels aren’t my cup of tea.

    However, that is another thing I like about Teaser Tuesdays (and book clubs), one is exposed to books one wouldn’t ordinarily consider.

    I love it!

    Reply
  4. Addendum:
    I imagine that The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society would qualify as a Romance Novel – and admittedly, I thoroughly enjoyed that book.

    So – maybe my cups of tea can be Oolong, Ceylon, Chai, black, green, Fuijan white, as well as Rosehip tea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

